Polari Announces New Award The Polari Prize to Join Its Polari First Book Prize And Embarks on Major New Tour

 Polari, the award-winning LGBT literary salon, returns with a new prize for 2019 that will recognise both debut authors and established writers whose work explores the LGBT experience. The Polari Prize will be awarded to an overall book of the year, while The Polari First Book Prize will continue to champion work by new writers. Both awards are now open for submissions until April 10.

 In its inaugural year, The Polari Prize will be sponsored by D H H Literary Agency, with the winner receiving a cheque for £2,000. Entry for the prize includes a submission fee of £25 per title. The winner will be chosen by a distinguished panel of authors and industry professionals, also announced today, including critically acclaimed author Bernardine Evaristo; CEO of the National Centre for Writing Chris Gribble; award-winning writer and performer VG Lee; and playwright and former winner of The Polari First Book Prize Paul McVeigh.

Leading literary PR consultancy FMcM Associates will continue its sponsorship of the Polari First Book Prize, with winners receiving a cheque for £1,000. Entry for the prize remains free. This year’s judges include bestselling novelist Kiki Archer; writer and performer Cerys Evans; author and former Head of Literature & Spoken Word at the Southbank Centre Rachel Holmes; and poet  and former Polari First Book Prize winner John McCullough.

Both prize panels will be chaired by founder, journalist and author Paul Burston. Books must have been published in English by a writer born or resident in the UK. Books must  have been published in the 12 months up to February 1, 2019. Self-published works in print formats are also eligible. Works should be submitted by the publisher, while self-published works should be submitted together with a letter explaining why the book was self-published.

 The longlists will be announced on June 10th, and shortlists on July 26th. The winners will be revealed in October 2019 as part of the London Literature Festival at the Southbank Centre. Paul Burston, chair of the judges, said: “The stories we tell and the books we read help shape our world view. For many years, LGBT people struggled to find books featuring characters with whom we could identify. Diversity in publishing is still an issue. While some publishers are rising to  the challenge, we still have a long way to go. Thanks to our ongoing touring activities and strong presence at the Southbank Centre, awareness of Polari and The Polari First Book Prize grows year on year. Bolstered by growing submissions and recognition, we felt now was the time to expand the prize to highlight the diverse range of literary voices within the LGBT+ community, at all stages.”

The Polari First Book Prize and The Polari Prize are tied to the Polari Literary Salon, and  winners will be offered headline slots at future events.

Launching a new and expanded tour this year, the Polari Literary Salon will be hosting events at this month’s London Book & Screen Week, at the historic London nightclub Heaven, and in Edinburgh, Huddersfield, Birmingham and Belfast, in addition to its regular events with Huddersfield Literature Festival, Bradford Literature Festival and in Hastings on the south coast.

 Fiona Mozley, winner of the 2018 Polari First Book Prize for her debut novel Elmet (John Murray), said: “Winning The Polari Prize was an honour. The prize does a huge amount to convince publishers that there is an appetite for LGBT literature, and to bring a range of readers towards books they might have overlooked in previous decades. It helps emerging writers feel confident in writing LGBT characters.”

 The Polari First Book Prize enjoys a strategic partnership with WH Smiths Travel, who support the shortlisted books and winner throughout their stores nationwide.

 First launched in 2011, The Polari First Book Prize has been covered in a wide range of publications including Metro, the Guardian, the i, Irish Independent, Press Association, Gay Times, Winq and BBC Radio.

 For further details on how to submit a book for this year’s prize, please email Paul Burston at paulburston@btinternet.com.