Forty-one small presses in the running for new award recognising the outstanding contribution of independent publishers

Forty-one small presses from the UK and Ireland have been shortlisted for the British Book Awards’ inaugural Small Press of the Year Award – with a chance of going on to be crowned Independent Publisher of the Year.

The new accolade – for publishing companies with annual revenues of less than £1m – was created to recognise the explosion of independent publishing across the length and breadth of the UK and Ireland in recent years, with many distinctive publishers establishing themselves away from the mainstream. It is sponsored by the CPI Group.

Philip Jones, chair of the judges and editor of The Bookseller, said: “The first year of this new award has proved to be an eye-opener, with an incredibly strong list of more than 50 submissions, from which the regional and country shortlists have been selected. Small and perfectly formed, these publishers show a sector that is diverse, imaginative and thriving. It is a delight to learn more about their businesses, and to showcase them as part of this award.”

Nigeria and London-based publisher Cassava Republic, business specialist Globe Law and Business, poetry press Carcanet, Latin American literature specialist Charco Press, children’s list Sweet Cherry, travel publisher Wild Things and award-winning Scottish publisher 404 Ink are among the names to make the inaugural shortlists, which cover nine regions.

Elle Nash, whose  Animals Eat Each Other  will be published by award-winning Scottish publisher 404Ink in May 2019.

Elle Nash, whose Animals Eat Each Other will be published by award-winning Scottish publisher 404Ink in May 2019.

The regional winners, as well as the overall Small Press of the Year winner, will be announced at the London Book Fair, on 13th March.

The overall winner will then be shortlisted for the Independent Publisher of the Year Award, with the winner of that award to be announced at The British Book Awards ceremony, at Grosvenor House, on 13th May.

Produced by the UK’s book industry magazine The Bookseller, the Nibbies are the definitive celebration of the country’s leading creative industry. Showcasing the enormous range and depth of modern publishing, they bring together the consumer-facing Books of the Year awards and trade accolades that honour the outstanding successes of publishers and retailers.

Find out more, and join the conversation via: | |

The poet Phoebe Power - published by Carcanet (Credit: Adrian Pope)

The poet Phoebe Power - published by Carcanet (Credit: Adrian Pope)



  • b small publishing

  • Fine Feather Press

  • Globe Law and Business

  • SMH Books


  • Little Island Books

  • The Lilliput Press

  • Wordwell


  • Cassava Republic

  • Daunt Books Publishing

  • Henningham Family Press

  • Jacaranda Books

  • Lantana Publishing

  • Saqi Books

  • The School of Life

  • Tiny Owl Publishing

  • Canbury Press


  • Nine Arches Press

  • North Staffordshire Press

  • Otter-Barry Books

  • Practical Action Publishing

  • Sweet Cherry Publishing

  • North

  • Bluemoose Books

  • Carcanet Press

  • Comma Press

  • Dead Ink

  • Smokestack Books


  • 404 Ink

  • BHP Comics

  • Charco Press

  • Scotland Street Press

  • Speculative Books

  • The Lunicorn Press


  • Burning Eye Books

  • Handheld Press

  • Little Toller Books

  • September Publishing

  • Wild Things Publishing


  • Dedalus

  • Galley Beggar Press


  • Firefly Press

  • Parthian Books

For all media enquires please contact Daniel Kramb and Annabel Robinson at FMcM Associates on 0207 405 7422 or,,