'One' by Sarah Crossnan wins the Bookseller YA Prize

Sarah Crossan is today, Thursday 2nd June, announced as the winner of The Bookseller’s YA Book Prize 2016 for One, published by Bloomsbury Books. 

One, a novel about conjoined twins written in free verse, was chosen as the unanimous winner by the judges, who praised Crossan’s exquisite writing style, thrilling plot, and masterful handling of teen issues. 

Crossan beat off competition from nine other authors to win the prize and was chosen by a team of eight industry and media judges and four young readers. 

She was presented with the award at a ceremony at Hay Festival, Wales presented by author and former children’s laureate Malorie Blackman. 

Sarah Crossnan, winner of the YA book prize 2016

Sarah Crossnan, winner of the YA book prize 2016

: “I am thrilled that One is the winner of the YA Book Prize 2016. This blank verse novel is a remarkable achievement, being both beautifully written and gripping, and Sarah Crossan is one of the finest authors writing YA today.”
— Charlotte Eyre, Children’s Editor for The Bookseller and Chair of the YA Book Prize
“It was an exhilarating shortlist and I’m thrilled by the winner. We’ve got a book that breaks every rule and would enthral any reader; a book that gives you the gift of reading in a new way and loving every page.”
— Peter Florence, judge and director of Hay Festival
“This is the book which ultimately stood head and shoulders above some extremely tough competition this year. Beautifully written, wholly original and something, that as a huge fan and avid YA promoter, makes me proud to be involved in this literary scene. Pushing a book into people’s hands, urging them to read it, spreading the word and wishing everyone you know experienced it – “ONE” hits all of these buttons and more. Put simply - a beautiful, stunning, heartbreaking must-read!”
— David O’Callaghan, youth book buyer at Eason and judge

The YA Book Prize, now in its second year, is the only prize to specifically focus on fiction for young adults by authors based in the UK and Ireland. 

The judging panel, led by Eyre, comprised of leading industry figures: 

•    Bim Adewunmi, writer and editor
•    Charlotte Eyre, children’s editor of The Bookseller
•    Peter Florence, director of Hay Festival
•    Kirsten Grant, director of World Book Day
•    Jonas Herriot, librarian and chair of Youth Libraries Group (YLG) London
•    Kate McHale, YA buyer at Waterstones
•    David O’Callaghan, youth book buyer at Eason
•    Katherine Woodfine, author and director of YALC
•    Four students from Hereford Sixth Form College

During the winning ceremony, author Melvin Burgess also received a special achievement award to mark the 20th anniversary of the classic YA novel Junk (Andersen Press). 

“Melvin Burgess is a pioneer of the UKYA movement and his novel Junk kickstarted the movement to publish books for teenagers. It was an honour to present him with a special achievement award for Junk, which, although published 20 years ago, still resonates with teenagers today.”
— Charlotte Eyre, Children’s Editor for The Bookseller and Chair of the YA Book Prize