Knights of the Borrowed Dark cover revealed

Today Puffin revealed the much anticipated cover of Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden, to be published 7th April 2016.  

Penguin Random House Children’s biggest debut fiction release of 2016, Knights of the Borrowed Dark, is the first in an extraordinary 9+ adventure trilogy from debut Irish novelist, Dave Rudden.

Anticipation is building for this action-packed modern fantasy novel brimming with imagination and dark magic.

"Scary and funny – my two favourites. Dave Rudden is more than a rising star, he is a shooting star" - Eoin Colfer (Irish Laureate for Children’s Literature)
Knights of the Borrowed Dark.jpg


For fans of JK Rowling, Eoin Colfer, Rick Riordan and Derek Landy, Knights of the Borrowed Dark is poised to draw a whole new generation of readers into a fantastical world of pulse-pounding action as orphan Denizen Hardwick finds himself caught up in a secret and ancient battle between an order of magic-wielding humans – the Knights of Borrowed Dark – and a shadowy race of monsters known as the Tenebrous, and their powerful master the Endless King. But this is no straightforward good-against-evil romp. Through dark magic, dark humour, monsters, classy writing and not to mention a 13-year-old hero who believes heroism should be optional, Knights of the Borrowed Dark explores the depths of what it is to be a young person today – cynicism, conflicts, complicated relationships, and all.

A fast-moving, funny and utterly captivating modern fantasy, where scepticism pervades but friendship and bravery triumph, where dark battles with light and knights battle with monsters, Knights of the Borrowed Dark marks the arrival of a major new talent in children’s fiction.

Follow Dave and the conversation: @d_ruddenwrites/ #KOTBD

Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden, is out on 7th April 2016. For further information contact Emily Banyard - emilyb@fmcm.co.uk.